

Somerset Waste Board 27 September 2019 Report for decision

Waste Board membership

Lead Officer: Scott Wooldridge, Monitoring Officer and Strategic Manager for

Governance and Democratic Services

Author: Julia Jones, Democratic Services Team Leader

Contact Details: 01823 357628

Forward Plan Reference:	SWB/18/12/05
Summary:	The report sets out changes to the Waste Board's membership of 10 elected members (2 from each partner authority) for 2019/20, as a result of two revised appointments from Sedgemoor District Council and Mendip District Council.
Recommendations:	That the Somerset Waste Board notes the revised Board's membership for 2019.

1. Background

- 1.1. At the last meeting of Somerset Waste Board the revised Board membership for 2019/20 was noted following the district council elections held in May 2019. The revised membership was also a reduction of members following the amalgamation of the former Taunton Deane Borough Council and West Somerset Council to create the new Somerset West and Taunton local authority as of 1 April 2019.
- Since the Board meeting held in June, we have been advised of two revised appointments from two district councils to change a board member. Sedgemoor District Council have now appointed Cllr Andrew Gilling as Cllr Gill Slocombe is stepping down after serving on the Board for many years. Mendip District Council have appointed Cllr Matthew Martin to replace Cllr Adam Boyden.

1.3. There will be a requirement for officers to ensure these members benefit from an early induction and training regarding the Waste Partnership and Waste Board Business Plan priorities, services, meeting procedures and standing orders

2. Somerset Waste Board Membership 2019-20

2.1. The revised Board membership for 2019/20 therefore is as follows:

Mendip District Council Matthew Martin

Tom Ronan

Sedgemoor District Council Andrew Gilling

Janet Keen

Somerset County Council

David Hall Clare Paul (Vice-Chair)

South Somerset District Council

Tim Kerley
Sarah Dyke (Chair)

Somerset West and Taunton Council

Alan Wedderkopp David Mansell